Kelsey S. – Moment

Forever God is Faithful

“No temptation has overtaken you except what is common to mankind. And God is faithful; He will not let you be tempted beyond what you can bear. But when you are tempted, He will also provide a way out so that you can endure it.”

-1 Corinthians 10:13

At a very young age, I was very fortunate to accept Jesus as my Lord and Savior. However, being the “Christian Girl” was added to the long list of labels I received in my small, ND high school. No matter what I did to try to fit in, I never seemed to be good enough. I was that girl that sat at home on the weekends while everyone else would go party. I got to the point of simply feeling sorry for myself all of the time. So many times I felt like throwing in the towel on this “Christian thing” I was doing so that maybe I could just fit in like everybody else. However, every time that thought even crossed my mind, a small voice from God would tell me, “Hold on, I have so much more for you.” With that in mind, I developed the mindset that God was “punishing me” every time things didn’t go the way I wanted them too. In my mind I was living for Jesus and couldn’t possibly imagine why He would make me suffer if He really had so much more in store for me. 

When my freshman year of college started, I was so excited to get out of the small town atmosphere and to start experiencing all these great things God had planned for me. However, freshman year didn’t start as dreamy as I had planned. The people I was meeting were the exact same kind of people that I was dying to get away from in high school. I didn’t understand why God was again “punishing me.” So there I was, no different from where I started; feeling sorry for myself all over again. Each week I desperately looked forward to the weekends, so I could drive home and be in my comfort zone with my family again.

My roommate and I didn’t really share the same interests, and I never expected she would be the one that God would use to start revealing His plans for me; but she was. One day in February of our freshman year, she told me about this new Christian group that was starting up on campus and said it sounded like something I would be interested in. I kind of put the idea of going on the back burner, because I surely was not going to go alone, and I didn’t really know who to ask to go with me. For two weeks the idea of going constantly circled my mind, yet I tried so desperately to push it away. Finally one night I gave in; I told myself if I could find someone to go with me I would go. I texted everyone I could think of, but everyone was busy. I prayed and asked God to forgive me if I sat that week out and made a better effort the next week to find someone to go with; yet I felt called to go. I couldn’t concentrate on my homework, so I finally gave in and went by myself.

Underground, later renamed U Cru, turned out to be exactly what God had planned for me all along. Shortly after attending my first meeting I started hanging out with the two female leaders and by the beginning of April I was asked to be a member of the leadership team. Ever since then I have realized all the things that I was overlooking before. Looking back, I have realized the countless opportunities I had to potentially lead people to Christ in high school; yet I didn’t. In my mind the “Jesus thing” was my thing and I so jealously wanted to keep it all to myself. Now I want the whole world to know about Him and His great love! 

My relationship with the Lord has grown tremendously in the past two years and He has continued to be faithful.  Now when things don’t go my way, instead of feeling like I’m being “punished,” I’m praising the Lord for all He’s done and seeking advice as to where my next step should be.  The Lord has blessed me with opportunities I would have never even dreamed of having and I am so excited for what my future will hold. There are still days when things don’t make sense, but I just have to remind myself that God has my back!  He will ALWAYS be faithful.  He will never lead you to something that you’re not capable of handling. No matter what you are going through, it could ALWAYS be worse. He knows exactly what He is doing, but you have to be patient and trust His timing.  He ALWAYS will be faithful; and we need to be faithful in return.  This is my ONE LIFE and ONE CHANCE, so my actions must reflect that. Jesus loves each and every one of us more than we will ever know and I am so glad He led you here to read my story, so that you too may know of His great love! :)

Send in your Moment

One thought on “Kelsey S. – Moment

Do you wish to reply?

